A Mind in Pictures (part 2)

31 Mar

This is a continuation of this post. This is where the deep stuff starts to come out 🙂  As usual, click on the picture to get a larger one.

DSC04920

Yep, that’s Michael Klim’s chest exploding, giving birth to a baby that holds the world. Michael Klim is bald. I am not. So I added hair. I have an irrational distrust of men who shave their heads.Here is another shot of that one so that you get the 3-D effect:

DSC04921

I think at this stage I had some anger to work through. This next one shows a melody (I’m a musician too) exploding, but the melody is still there, under the conflagration:

DSC04922

Pronouns – I, me, us – got me thinking. Something here I saw in a lot of what was going on around me, especially in the theatre world. Nothing new.

DSC04923

Hang in there, this is the last of the really pissed off ones:

DSC04924

It seems after a month I managed to work most of that rage out… artistically at least. The next few are much more harmonious, if a little iconoclastic. The next one I _think_ was supposed to be another mandala, but I just wasn’t in the mood to be contained in a circle:

DSC04925

My personal symbol returns in the centre of the next one, but here I was (obviously) strongly inspired by the time I have spent working with indigenous communities/organisations and on indigenous languages:

DSC04926

I’d just started doing a fair bit of bike-riding when the next one came out. Maybe I was listening to a bit of Creedence Clearwater Revival too 🙂  What’s ahead? And what’s behind?

DSC04927

For the next piece we were asked to recall a conversation that we’d had in the previous few days. I recalled a conversation with someone who had a very distinctive identity, a very strong exterior, but I got very little sense of the person within, which seemed guarded, almost absent. As a result, I found myself getting further away, becoming a mere spectator to the conversation. It was kinda sad, kinda funny…

DSC04928

This next one shows limited skill, even for me. But the task here was to draw how we felt without seeing what we were doing. So the main outline (the waves) was done blindfolded. I added the blue splotches and the seagull later.

DSC04929

I think the starting point for this next one was simply to trace around one of our hands, and go from there. I felt like getting a bit messy that morning:

DSC04930

This collage expresses some of the things that are important to me. I am a lotus blooming. Om and shit…

DSC04931

What would art therapy be without a little Dalì?

DSC04932

I like this one, it’s uncharacteristically calm:

DSC04933

I think the next one was based on a proverb that a colleague of mine used to recite – “Be a willow, not an oak.” I always thought of it as rather trite, but I guess it still inspired me on some level:

DSC04934

This is one of my daughter’s favourites. The four seasons:

DSC04935

Clearly the next one owes something to Sidney Nolan, currently rolling over in his grave. But it’s also loaded with symbols and designs that are of great personal significance to me. Why Ned? Dunno really, we all need a little culturally-sanctioned terrorism from time to time…

DSC04936

You’ll probably need to enlarge this next one to get the full story. I don’t think it’s peculiar to me, this phenomenon:

DSC04937

The next work depicts a situation viewed first from ‘what could go wrong?’ and then from ‘what if it worked out fine?’ The situation in question related to the music I was composing and directing for the Queensland Shakespeare Ensemble‘s production of Two Gentlemen of Verona (2012), which I was also directing.

DSC04938

I really have no idea what this next one was about. But it’s one of my simplest, so here it is:

DSC04939

A rainbow of transformation on breath. The sacrum of agony becomes the pear of harmony. Don’t ask, I don’t know…

DSC04940

And aptly, finally, my final piece of artwork in this program was another mandala:

DSC04941

I think it’s interesting, as a parting comment, to compare the mandala above to the two previous ones. I think you can get a sense of my journey, at least artistically if not more broadly and deeply personally, over the thirteen months I spent in the program. I think you can see a journey from the rigid to the nebulous, finally finding an equilibrium that embraced both. Here are the three mandalas side by side:

  DSC04898DSC04917DSC04941

Thank you for looking at my pictures, I appreciate it.

One Response to “A Mind in Pictures (part 2)”

  1. James April 4, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    I very much like a lot of the pictures in this second post. The final mandala is particularly beautiful. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

